Eureka Springs Historical Museum

About the Museum

The Eureka Springs Historical Museum strives to preserve and protect the history and heritage of this city and its people. The museum continues to attract thousands of visitors from all across the United States and the world. The Eureka Springs Historical Museum is located in the heart of the historic district at 95 S. Main in the 1889 Calif Building. Open Daily 9:30am to 4pm, closed Wednesdays and Sundays.

Admission Fee for Self-Guided Museum Tours:

  • $5.00 for Adults.
  • Children 6 and younger are free.
  • Members of the museum are free!

We Welcome Group Tours: Please call the museum at 479-253-9417 for more information.

We look forward to your visit and the opportunity to share the history of Eureka Springs with you.

Our visitor center is packed full of information that will enhance your visit. Explore our gift shop for souvenirs, books, and treasures by local artists. Our skilled researchers may have just what you’re looking for in our archives.

The museum’s income is derived from admissions, donations, fundraisers, research fees, and gift shop sales, as well as memberships (which are available to all interested persons). We are a non-profit museum, so donations and fundraisers help keep our doors open.  Join us in October for our annual “Voices of the Silent City” cemetery tour!

Our Mission Statement:

The Eureka Springs Historical Museum is a non-profit institution whose primary purpose is the collecting, preserving, documenting and exhibiting physical objects; and educating scholars, students and the general public original evidence of the cultural history of Eureka Springs and the surrounding area from its founding to the present day.

About Our Beautiful Building

The building housing the Eureka Springs Historical Museum is referred to as the Calif house.  The magnificent three-story home was constructed in 1889 by Samuel L. Calif.

The home reflects the architectural style of the late Victorian era, and it is constructed of native limestone on all three floors. Mr. Calif used his home as a family residence, dry goods store, and a boarding house!

The family maintained and kept the family home until the 1940’s when the building was sold to the Elks Lodge.

The Elks Lodge owned the building for 15 years, and made several structural changes to the appearance of the building. They took down the front porches, installed a concrete wall over the main entrance, and changed some of the upper rooms.

The Ozark Folk Festival board members purchased the building in 1971. Over the next several years, they used profits from the Ozark Folk Festival to begin restoring the building, to create the museum.

The property was conveyed to the Eureka Springs Historical Museum by the Folk Festival Board on June 2, 1980. The museum was incorporated with the Secretary of the State of Arkansas as a 501c(3) non-profit at that time.

In October of 1971, the Eureka Springs Historical Museum officially opened its doors to the public. We have come a long way since then! The museum has both permanent and temporary exhibits on the first and second floors that provide a unique perspective on the city of Eureka Springs. The Eureka Springs Historical Museum’s collection contains over 10,000 artifacts that include photographs, travel memorabilia, art, musical instruments, and textiles that date from before the founding of Eureka Springs in 1879 to the present.

About Eureka Springs

During the last two decades of the nineteenth century, the city of Eureka Springs, Arkansas, sprang up after the discovery of the Basin Spring. The town quickly grew around a seemingly inexhaustible supply of pure, clear, “healing waters.” From 1879 to the turn of the 20th century, Eureka Springs would become a health spa and the fourth largest city in Arkansas.  The city has been lovingly referred to as “The City that Water Built”, “Little Switzerland of the Ozarks”, “Town Where Misfits Fit”, and as an authentic Victorian village. The town was and still is a unique community that holds fast to its heritage. We are proud to say that the entire downtown business district is on the National Register of Historic Places.  Eureka Springs is still a ‘healing place’ today where people come to get away from it all.

Site Support by ERIK WEEMS